Get Adobe Flash player
Home FAQ General What is the process for getting a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit

Original handgun permit applicants must provide proof of U.S. Citizenship or Lawful Permanent Residency.

The citizens of the state of Tennessee have the right to keep and bear arms for their common defense; but the General Assembly has the power, by law, to regulate the wearing of arms with a view to prevent crime. Any resident of Tennessee who has reached twenty-one (21) years of age may apply to the Department of Safety for a handgun permit. If the applicant is not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm in this state pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §39-17-316 or 39-17-1307(b), 18 U.S.C. 9 (g) or any other state or federal law and the applicant otherwise meets all of the requirements, the Department of Safety shall issue a permit to the applicant.

  • Permit will be valid for four (4) years from date of issue.
  • The permit shall entitle the permittee to carry any handgun - which the permittee legally owns or possesses.
  • The permittee shall have the permit in their immediate possession at all times when carrying a handgun and shall display the permit on demand of a law enforcement officer.

Applications for a new handgun carry permit may be picked up at any Driver Service Center location.

Applications for a new handgun carry permit can be processed at any full service Driver Service Center location.

NOTE: Applicant should consult Title 39, Chapter 17, Part 13 of the T.C.A. Codes for information on locations where handguns are prohibited, or check the list of Reciprocity States.

Even though a person has a permit and is authorized to possess or carry a firearm pursuant to T.C.A. 39-17-1315 or 39-17-1351, there are restrictions as to where firearms may be carried. Additional information pertaining to possession of and carrying a firearm are listed by Tennessee Annotated Code and subject matter. More information can be obtained online from the Tennessee Annotated Code lookup (this link is to LexisNexis site external to Tennessee Department of Safety website).


  • Applications are received and reviewed in the Handgun Carry Permit Office.
  • Proper documentation is forwarded to three (3) different agencies: (TBI, FBI, County Sheriff).
  • Upon a name search approval from TBI, the permit can be issued within ninety (90) days from date of application.
  • Upon issuance, the handgun carry permit will be mailed to the applicant.
  • Incomplete applications cannot be processed.


  • Original Application = $115
  • Renewal Application = $50
  • Duplicate Application = $5